May 16th I packed up and headed to San Diego. Before I checked in to the hotel, I made a pit stop at ASAP IV for a basic hydration, it was called the athletic drip, (their online description) “fluid with ASAP Total B Blend (Vitamin B Complex and B12), to get you rehydrated and ready to crush your next activity”. I’ve never done this before, I’m not sure if it worked but I can tell you it didn’t hurt. Well except me, I was left with a gnarly bruise that lasted over a week.

After 30 minutes I was done and headed to check in to the hotel.

While waiting for my running buddy and her son to arrive, I unpacked and organized my gear for the morning.

I was pretty early so I had some time to hit the grocery store to pickup some bagels, boiled eggs, banana ( for the morning) and a gallon of water.
I ate a light lunch at Mediterranean Grille, filet mignon over herbal rice.
Back at the hotel, I just read and relaxed. I was reading, Those Empty Eyes by Charlie Donlea.
A few hours later my running buddy, her son and I headed to the park in La Jolla to pick up our race packets. Tomorrow…. race day ! La Jolla half.
We took a Lyft there because I knew parking would be super limited or impossible all together. I was right , the place was packed. I think they had like 7-8 thousand people this year. I tried to find the exact number online but failed.
We found a restaurant (easy to do, there are tons of options) I scarfed down a bowl of pasta with pesto and shrimp. Nothing special about this place and I don’t even remember the name. It kind of had a pub vibe to it but we ate outside, which was straight up lovely. Cloudy evening, a little breeze & good. Happy girl.
Back to the hotel, I got a decent night sleep and met my friend in the lobby at 530. We tried to get a Lyft and after 2 dropped drives, ended up using Uber (reluctantly but necessarily) we were running out of time. The race was to start at 630.
We ended up getting to the race just in time! Backwards! The first wave of runners were coming at us like the running of the bulls! Honestly, I preferred getting there at the last minute. No time for nerves or playing the waiting game.
This course is so beautiful and the morning was overcast. It was a really great day for a run.


I finished the race, my friend was faster than me so finished first but I ended up beating last years time. Last year was 13:31 per mile average and this year was 11:59 per mile. I’m quite happy and really feel like I could have done faster. Maybe next year 🙂
After the race it took sooooo long to get back to the Del Mar race track (starting line) using the shuttle but it felt great to sit and relax 🙂
We got to the hotel with time for me pack up, rinse off and sit in the hot tub.
I even checked out early and headed to my friends house to get ready for some baseball.
We watched the Mariners beat the Padres (which would end up in a sweep the following day)
I forgot to take pics of me and my friends and I’m bummed about that but we had a good time.
We ate at Pacifico Market in the park and oh my lanta, we had a lob dog, it was grilled lobster tails, mixed in garlic lemon aioli and chives, on top of a chorizo sausage on a brioche bun. SO good 🤤


We didnt even mind the rain when it started.
After the loss, we headed home.
All in all it was a great day!


























