In the Beginning..Of February, that is….

Four days, ten hours and 30 minutes ago…I made a decision to quit smoking…again. I have quit before, it was about four or five years ago and I quit for a good two years. I am taking a few of the things that helped me last time and am hoping I can re-train myself.

The biggest help last time around was Bikram Yoga and I am giving it a whirl this time around. I found a studio super close to home so I signed up for a three day trial. I opened the door to the yoga room and was greeted with a not so pleasant smell. I honestly don’t even know how to describe it but it did make me scrunch my nose up.

I rolled out my mat and covered it with my beach towel, turned around and layed down in shavasana, you know, you have to mentally bring yourself to the room and into the moment. Shavasan is a great way  to do this, you lay there, taking deep breathes and clearing your mind. This part used to be the most difficult for me, ADD and shavasana are a little contradictory BUT possible if you can learn to control your thoughts and controlling thoughts is an area of which I am very good! Here is a picture of an entire class in shavasana (relaxation and healing time) I snagged this picture from the internet 🙂

bikram-yoga-shorts-300x208

 

Check out how many people are in this class!! I bet it’s smelly in there!!

There were around 30 people in class last night which is not too crowded, I had a lot of space to myself which made me happy. I did feel like I was going to die. My heart was racing, sweat was pouring off of me and into my eyes which made them burn..note to self…wear a head band next time… my head was pounding as well. Another note to self, try to drink at least a gallon of water the day before class..I am pretty sure my head was pounding because I was dehydrated..

As sucky as it all seems (smelly, sweaty, headache) afterwards? I felt amazing. So cleansed, skin soft and I felt strong.

SO….I will go 4 days a week for 30 days and then switch back to regular yoga 🙂

Happy New Year Y’all!!

Happy New Year Everyone! 2013 is here and I have no idea what it will bring.

I don’t usually make “new year resolutions” but this year I have too many. So many, I may be setting myself up for failure. Make no mistake, I plan and would love to follow through with all of my resolutions but…I am not oblivious to the fact that I am well known for making tons of plans, setting goals, dreaming big and then…not doing any of them. My intentions and thoughts are always genuine, I am a pretty passionate person…about a lot of things at any given moment.
For example…I watched the movie “Big Miracle” the other day. Great movie, based on a true story set in 1988 about a mommy, daddy and baby whale who got stuck in a a section of rapidly closing ice holes in the sea off of Barrow, Alaska. Greenpeace, the U.S Military, the entire community nearest Barrow, AK., the nation were involved in the rescue of these whales. By the end of the movie, I wanted to become a part of Greenpeace and save our oceans critters…Now, I know that will never happen but I like to think I about “if only I could”.

Maybe, one day, far off into the future this thought will come back to me and I will do my part. For now, I will stick to some little things I can might be able to actually follow through.

Here goes…I will walk my dogs every night. I’ve been reading Cesar Milans book, “Cesars Way” — Do you know that man exercises his dogs for eight hours a day? This is not possible for me or anyone else living in my house so, the mutts will get their morning play of catch with the husband and in the evening I will come home and take them straight away on a run.
We have three so it’s a little difficult. I have to take little Fat Larry out first – I will  run him around the neighborhood, bring him home and come back for the other two. Larry is a good walker, he’s little, easy to control. The other two? HA! They are terrible walkers! While walking them together, if one dog gets in front of the other they viciously attack each other. It’s quite embarrassing. If a person walks by…they bark at them…if a person walks by with a dog??? They bark and pull HARD on their leashes like they are going in for a kill. I have to add here that my dogs are the biggest chicken dogs of all time. I don’t know if they would even know what to do if I…say…let their leashes go. Needless to say..I have no control. I will continue to read “Cesars Way” and try to apply the advice to our daily walking/running routine. So far…three days of walk/running.

Do you want to hear something pathetic?

The day after our first walk, of maybe  mile, my quads were sore, my shin muscles were sore..do you know even my ANKLE muscles were sore?? My ankle muscles have never hurt before. This was a sad sad realization I was slapped with. I am seriously out of shape! I must continue 🙂 My chub will go away, dogs chub will go away and we will all be happier!! Wish me luck here!

When I started tonights blog…I had full intention of babbling on and on about the oh so many resolutions I have for 2013.

I changed my mind. Let’s see how I feel tomorrow. If I still see reason for more resolution..I will let you know 🙂 For now, in this moment, I am perfectly content with my walking/running nightly goal!

Here are a few pictures of my running partners!!

This here is (for now) Fat Larry!

Image

Image
Above: We have Bollie

Image
Above: This is Ollie

Best wishes to all of you for 2013!!!

 

In my humble opinion….

I am hoping this blog allows me to move on and free myself of the frustrations of seeing daily posts on the internet in regards to the opinions of others when it comes to the recent tragedy that was the massacre shooting at the Sandy Hook Elementary School.

Typically, I am fascinated and non-judgmental when it comes to the thoughts and feelings of others about political and religious beliefs. I am a strong believer that everyone has feelings and whether I agree with said feelings or not…all of our feelings are valid in their own right.

Today is no different…I do not judge and I will not judge but..I am tired. I am tired of seeing all of the posts on the internet. I am tired of listening to the media claim they know the answers to fixing the problems of this nation. So tonight..I say my peace and I will move on. I will not listen to the news and I will scroll past all those on my friends list who post anything about the tragic event.

I am a Liberal. A Liberal who happens to be pro gun ownership. I know, right? I have not always been so. Only in the past five years have I changed my feelings about guns. I used to be terrified. The reason for my terror? I was uneducated…period. My friends and family and I live in the suburbs of Arizona. We frequently go out to the desert and shoot guns using targets for practice. There are usually about fifteen of us out there along with an arsenal of guns – we all interchange, trying out each others firearms and practice. Its a fun event, I have learned a lot and to be honest..it’s a powerful feeling KNOWING that if it came down to me and an intruder…I will win.

To me, owning a gun gives me the power to protect myself from those who want to invade my space, possibly harm me physically and steal from me.

Unfortunately, these are the times we live in.

With that said…I DO believe it IS way to easy for anyone to purchase a gun. I bought my first gun three years ago. I walked into the local gun shop in Glendale, AZ, told the salesman which gun I wanted, he asked me if I knew anything about the gun I wanted to purchase, I said, “No, but I have a few friends that know enough to teach me”. He said ‘OK” took my paperwork, dialed a phone number and ran a quicky background check. Found nothing and I was literally out the door with my new matte black .45 caliber Glock 23.

The entire process took less than fifteen minutes. To me, that’s unacceptable. What if..just what if…I had JUST found my husband in bed with another woman or I was just fired from a job and would not be able to provide my family with a great Christmas or I could no longer pay my bills. Crimes of passion can stem from these examples and more. We hear it everyday..
In fifteen minutes, my anger would not have been diminished, I could have very well been angered by something, purchased a firearm and taken matters into my own hands in a heated rage. I had no prior record so that quicky background check they just ran is really useless..I could have just snapped..this would have been my first crime of course I would have had  no blemishes on my record.
In a sense, I do agree with some form of gun control..it should not be that easy to walk out of the store with a gun and no education. Some sort of waiting period should be required along with a background check.

Is this going to solve the problem of shooting massacres, no…. no it will not. It is only one step…One issue.

The other problem I see is family. We all know in these times, most people cannot live in this economy on a one income family. That leaves our children either at home alone while we work to raise themselves or it leaves our children in the hands of day care or babysitters. We don’t have sit down dinners with our kids, we dont ask them how their days were and if we do…do we truly listen to not only what they are telling us but how they tell us how their days at school were?
I have a now nineteen year old daughter. It was like pulling teeth trying to get her to tell me how her day actually was. I would ask, “How was your day?” I would get…”Fine” It would take literally twenty minutes of prying to actually find out what the kid did that day. Frustrating, so frustrating but I wanted to know and to me “fine” was not acceptable.

I am not saying I am perfect, there have been many times, I have asked..just to ask and have not really listened to the answer. Not because I didn’t care but even as an adult..I am unfocused. Everyone of us is guilty of this. Our children are not perfect and they are not “fine”.

We, as a society, need to recognize this. We need to recognize and admit to ourselves that our child could possibly need us to listen and pay more attention to behavior signs which may lead them down the wrong path. A path which may lead them to become pregnant as a teen, may lead them to drug and alcohol usage, may lead them to gang violence or worse yet…may lead them to retrieve our guns, shoot us and then shoot down twenty completely innocent children.

Not every instance is the “fault” of the parent. Some kids are just born with mental and social health issues. These traits are seen by the parent..sometimes the parent sees or feels something is “‘off” within the child and they start treatment early..sometimes the parent ignores the warning signs..after all, it’s “my” child..I am fine..my child should be fine..my child is a “good” kid. Your kid is not perfect..if you feel something is “off” it’s worth his/her life and the lives of yourself and others to get it checked out..to seek professional help.

I hear and read people say “it’s video games and movies and music” to blame for our kids desensitization regarding human life. I don’t believe that to be true either. It comes down to paying attention to our children, educating them, creating good family values, teaching them right from wrong and holding them accountable for the actions they make.

Live Review: HOGJAW at The Blooze Bar, December 1st, 2012, by Jaffo

deathweddle2012's avatarDEATH WEDDLE

I’ll Burn in hell*Before I sell*My rights away from me*IT’S HIGH TIME WE EMBRACE*THE TOOL THAT KEEPS*ALL MEN FREE!!!

(These words surround an illustration of an AR-15 rifle on the back of Hogjaw’s GITSUM t-shirt.)

Phoenix certainly has its musical gems, doesn’t it? Be it folk, rock, hip-hop, punk, metal, or otherwise, on any given weekend the Valley bars and different small venues are alive with something for everyone. The expanse of our dry, crusty urban sprawl makes getting from one side of town to the other to see a particular band play quite a chore sometimes, but it’s often well worth the trip.

The band we chose to see last night, however, was performing at the bar that is absolutely the closest venue to my place. In fact is takes less than the length of a Hogjaw song for me to get there.

The Blooze Bar is kind…

View original post 1,390 more words

Attempt to Clean Green

Friday felt like the longest Friday in the history of Fridays! I am pretty sure I say that every Friday but man they are all torturous. Sitting in the office waiting for the weekend to begin, I feel like a little kid in time out!
When the clock, FINALLY, struck four-thirty I heard the horn from the Flinstones theme blaring in my ears as I packed up my belongings and made the trek homeward bound.

Dinner was a free for all (sometimes we have those nights when we neither the hubs nor I want to cook so we just grab whatever we want from the pantry or fridge) so I had a ham sandwich and some carrots.

It was a practice night for Jason and Kiah was out with her friends so I enjoyed some alone time with a bottle of wine, movies, surfing the internet and in between cleaning the floors. I had a blast 🙂

Out of floor cleaner I remembered a “recipe” for a nice green way to clean wood floors. After I swept, I mixed olive oil and vinegar and proceeded to mop.

The agents in the vinegar really do a good job a cleaning and the olive oil creates a beautiful shine.

 

Image

The downfalls??? After I was done and I walked on the floor…I left lovely footprints due to the olive oil, the smell is not good AND one of my dogs would not stop licking the floors!

I gave up and decided that Saturday  I would go back to cleaning my floors with chemicals until something green in invented to shine the floor and keep foot prints at bay.

To write..or not to write..

Five-thirty in the morning, semi sleeping actually envisioning myself sweeping sections of the floors downstairs and then mopping them. On a Sunday? This is a little ridiculous but I got out of bed, made coffee and plopped myself in front of the television. I found myself watching a program on PBS called the “GED Connection” todays topic was on writing. I became inspired and here it is an hour and fifteen minutes and a giant cup of coffee later and I am still on the couch…wanting to write.

One of the points made in this program that I hope to never forget is…If you have something in mind – get it out – don’t worry about grammar, don’t worry about how you’re going to start, don’t worry about complete sentences. Too many times writers confuse their roll in the creative process of writing with that of the editor. Of course you cannot publish a story or book full of run on sentences or a grammatical nightmare but you can get the complete product down on “paper” and edited it later. The sad part is ther have been many times I have had something in my head that I wanted to get out – I would sit at the computer and start writing only to quit fifteen minutes later because I couldn’t come up with the perfect introduction.

From here on out, I am making a promise to myself and will make a conscience effort to spit out my thoughts as they form in my head. It may be difficult for my readers out there, I warn you. Expressing myself tends be a bit more difficult when there are SOOOO many random thoughts bouncing around in my head!

Boring?? Maybe to some…

Some might say my weekend was “boring”. What is boring? To me, nothing I do is boring – there are no boring moments, it’s all in how you look at those….let’s call them…uneventful, moments.
The hubs was feeling under the weather, down with a lovely little chest cold.
Friday afternoon..after work, I drove straight to Trader Joes to grab something quick to whip up for dinner and of course a bottle of wine. 🙂 Yes, I admit it..I am a wino.
In the wine section, there behind a portable wine tasting cart, (hmm, I’ve never seen that before) was a man who asked me if I needed any help. I had been eyeballing a couple of wines in the Spanish wine section. Since my trip to Spain, I fancy Spanish wines the most. I  told the man, yes, I hoped he could help me. I found a super cheap (4.99) bottle of wine from Tempernillo and I wondered if he knew anything about it or had he ever tried it, what were his thoughts?
He had never tried but he did go to his handy dandy wine booklet and read to me the process and we found the grapes are from the Rioja valley – I love a good Rioja so I told him..Sold, thanks for your help!

It took me less time to select an easy dinner for the night. I picked up a couple of pouches of beef bolognese ravioli and coupled it with a beef bolognese red sauce. I know, I know, maybe one day I will make my own raviolis..but for that night…it was already six p.m by the time I got home. I don’t know how long it takes to make home made raviolis but certainly it would take more time than I was willing to wait for dinner to be served. Besides, the pre-made ones from Trader Joes are actually pretty tasty and in less than 15 minutes we were ready to eat.

The wine I selected wasn’t horrible but..it wasn’t great either. I don’t think I will be buying another bottle.

The rest of Friday night was spent vegetating on the couch watching movies, I honestly don’t remember which movies we watched nor what time it was we fell asleep.

It must have been pretty early though because I woke up at six am ready for coffee and a jaunt to the grocery store. I was excited to try out a new recipe my sister in law told me about (check out her blog page dutch13@wordpress.com ) She gave me the link to the egg salad recipe but I didn’t use that one – I lost it so I had to google another one. It called for eggs, avocado, radishes, green onion and mayo. I threw in cilantro as well because — everything is better with cilantro!  I liked the mix but I think I was expecting it to be a little more flavorful..Jason really enjoyed it..Phew! He is always so skeptical at trying “my” new dishes, so I was glad to know his mouth and belly were happy! 😀

The remainder of the day we watched movies..Comdey Central was the movie channel for the day – I think we may have watched four or five movies..Saving Silverman (an old one but neither J nor I had actually seen the movie all the way through before), Get him to the Greek..(always a funny one..I’m pretty sure we have both seen it now at least three times) and I can’t remember the other two.

On the menu for dinner that evening was Turkey burgers..Our friends Shane turned us on to this awesomeness. One lb. of Turkey, one packet of onion soup mix, a tub of feta cheese and one egg (ya know..to make all that other stuff stick). Jason was still not feeling well so grilling the burgers was not an option – nope, I don’t know how to cook on a grill – I broiled them in the oven on high for seven minutes on each side…I also learned how to make corn on the cob. That’s right, I had never boiled corn on the cob before Saturday night. It was all delicious – I think I could eat those burgers every day – I don’t think my taste buds would ever tire of the taste.

Full bellies from a day of nothing but eating and tele watching..it was another night of early to bed!

I Normally Don’t……

Post two days in a row. I felt it was necessary, in this case, because my Friday was so eventful! Not to mention..I have THE worst memory on the planet. If I were to wait another few days, It is very likely, I would completely forget the weekend.

Where did I leave off? Oh! yes..I left you at my pillow at three in the morning.
Three in the morning. I wish I could tell you I slept soundly until noon. That was not how the story starts, oh no, I woke up at nine a.m. Some would say (my husband in particular)  “Six hours of sleep is plenty”!
No..no it is NOT. Not for this girl. I need at least seven hours, eight would even be better but that never seems to happen. I guess I can sleep when I’m dead, right?
So, yea, nine a.m and it was time to start the typical weekend morning rituals. Coffee (a duh!) and jump online to check emails and of course Facebook while I wait for coffee. 🙂
Oh, I’m rambling? Yes, because you see…I’ve already forgotten what my morning consisted of. I do remember I had to take Kiah to work – I think that was around…ah whatever. Apparently my day was extremely unnoteworthy.
Jason and I left for Tucson around four in the afternoon. Traffic was terrible, the drive from home to Tucson is not a fun one – most of the way down is only two lanes and we have inconsiderate truck drivers on the road who feel they can drive in the fast lanes. Some states have laws for truck drivers, they are only allowed in the right lanes and no passing. I strongly feel we should adopt that law. I-10 from Phoenix to Tucson and vice versa is notorious for its high number of deadly accidents involving semi trucks and four wheelers. This post is not about the law or inconsiderate drivers so no – I won’t be doing any research to give you statistics. I’m just sayin’ 🙂
When we got into the Tucson, we stopped off at our friend Don’s house and visited for a bit then went to the screamer of the bands (Kyds vs Columbus) house. Him and his wife live, work and go to graduate school in Tucson. I had met the wife the week prior but did not have a chance to talk with her. I don’t hit it off with many people very often so I was happy there was little to no effort in our conversation. We talked about the school systems and writing and had a glass of wine. Too bad she had to finish a paper (or something school related..she is a graduate student and teaches fifth grade English..if my memory serves me correctly). 

By the time I let her be to finish her work, the guitar player and his girlfriend arrived and we all talked and listened to records for a little longer.
Our next stop was a BBQ.
J and I were not feeling very social so we told the guys, ” We’re going on a walk about..see you at the venue in about an hour”. It was dark and the heat from the day had finally gone so it was a nice walk. We found a dingy Mexican restaurant along the way, stopped in to eat and enjoy some quiet. HA, not really..the club across the street was JUMPIN’ – dubstep music so loud I am pretty sure I felt our table jiggle. It wasn’t terrible, it was actually kind of amusing. The waiter was the most gracious waiter  I think I had ever made contact with, maybe it was because the music across the street was interfering with his business or maybe it was because with all of the MAJOR construction going on in the neighborhood the are elated to have ANY patrons? I think it’s the latter.
Regardless, it was a nice dinner (well, I had breakfast but you get what I mean)…even nicer? Spending time talking, enjoying food and a nice walk with my Jason.
The rest of the night would be madness. 🙂
It was around nine-thirty when we got to the “venue”, I had warned the guys earlier, “This place is SMALL”. I had pulled up the venues website before we left for Tucson, just to check it out, and the website had a picture of the “space” — it was as big (rather..as small) as my living room at home. No stage, no drum riser and highly pitted concrete..similar to asphalt. There were stairs leading to a loft where they were selling thrift store clothing and shoes and….beer. mmkay?
We (the band and girlfriends/wives and friend friends) hung outside for three hours talking and waiting for the guys to go on. When midnight-fifteen came along they loaded up and I went in to catch a spot on the stairs. In between bands the majority of the people inside go outside to get air and/or smoke so I knew it would be prime time to get a good spot.
Same scenario..lighting was HORRIBLE..these are the best I could get:

Image

ImageImageImageImageImage

 

 

 

Keep reading..it gets better!

What a weekend! If you remember, from my last post, I took a “vacation” day this Friday to take care of some “personal business” (still yet to be disclosed). It was so nice not to have to drive to the office and sit in a cubby hole all the live long day. I did wake up at the normal time (six a.m), got dressed and headed straight to the grocery store..I was out of coffee and needed it something fierce! I grabbed a box of hair dye as well (shhh! don’t tell my hair dresser! He will freak out) I couldn’t help it though..these crazy gray hairs just seem to pop up over night..SO..I needed to cover them up ASAP!

Coffee, hair dye and a trip to the nail salon..that was my Friday morning. The coffee did its job, the at home hair dye job did wonders but the nail salon trip? Sadly, didn’t work out as well. I am not happy with the nails but they served their purpose for the afternoon. You see, I have been a nail biter since I was an itty bitty Kristi. I quit biting a few years ago and have been doing SOOO good until my best friends puppy got Parvo. While setting up a donation site for the family to pay for the extraordinary costs of saving this puppies life..the good new is puppy Brody girl had an amazing Vet and her life was saved; the bad news is, in the process, I bit off all of my nails to the nub and have not been able to stop since. Bad habits are so hard to drop! Ugh! Because I had some “personal business” to take care of, I felt, I needed to be presentable and not show up to a meeting with potato farmer hands, I put the crappy nails on.

After the “personal business” was attended to, I drove home, showered and got ready for the night out. Jason had a reunion show with a band he played with about ten years ago called the Kyds Vs Columbus at the Yucca Tap room in Tempe, AZ.

Jason stuffed his entire drum kit into the trunk and back seat of my car around eight-thirty and we drove on out.
The place was packed and LOUD! Five bands were on the bill and the Kyds were on last..it was going to be a long night. I was glad for Jason when all three of his bandmates from his current band arrived, that meant a lot to him. I think we got there around nine thirty and the drinking commenced, well with him and his friends ( I was the driver so no drinky poos for me that night). I am pretty sure every band member was carrying a pretty good buzz by the time they hit the stage at twelve-thirty (but we would have never known, they didn’t miss a beat)

Or maybe they did, I don’t think any of us would have known. I am not a fan of hardcore style but I am a huge fan of excellent musicians and these guys are awesome to listen to and watch live. The “singer” (screamer might be the better title or maybe front man would be an even better, more professional description) is so animated and wiley during the performance. Swinging the microphone around like a mad man, I was waiting, on edge, for him to swat Jason upside the head with that thing (luckily that did not happen). He climbs on the bass drum like a monkey, swings off rafters on the ceiling and throws himself on the floor, its great fun to see.

Even after over twenty years of watching Jason play the drums, I still am in awe every time. I promise, I am not just being biased because I am his wife, he is truly a phenomenal drummer. He plays with such passion and internal rhythm it is hard not to stare with a dropped jaw. Both of the guitar players are just as passionate as Jason and the front man – they all lose themselves in the groove. My one complaint..the bass player. he hides? Ninety percent of the time, he plays with his back to the crowd and covers Jason. It looks like he is playing only…for Jason.

The crowd was insane – watching them is almost as entertaining as watching the guys play. The music is hard and fast and the people in the crowd were throwing themselves at each other just as fast and hard as the guys were playing. No fighting at all – it was all in good fun. For me a little scary none the less, I do not want to hit the floor and I do not want someone slamming into me..I do not like pain.

I tried not to move from the spot I staked claim to but I really wanted to try to get some cool pictures so I had to move from here to there. This task proved to be difficult and I had a a few road blocks. One, the place was packed. I had my size and gender on my side to make it a little bit easier to pass through.. it’s more easy for a small woman to move in and out of crowd. Two, I wanted to avoid getting pushed and slammed into the crazy crowd people and three, I am not a tall girl at all. Being short in a crowd full of tall people sure does not make being a photographer easy.

I went to the back of the room to the sound booth and asked the girl working the board if I could stand there and take a few shots. She was nice enough to help me out and I was able to stand on a stool in the sound booth and take a few good crowd/band shots. Mind you, the lighting in this place is terrible, these are not my best but they are, sadly, the best of the night.

They ended the set, left the crowd wanting more, packed up and we were on the road to home by two-fifteen. I was sober and I don’t even remember going to bed..as soon as I put my head on the pillow, I was OUT.

I had full intentions on writing about my entire weekend on this one post but I am going to be like the Kyds Vs Columbus and leave you wanting more! 🙂

Hump Day and Honey Boo Boo

Hump day is just about over and that means one day closer to the weekend! What’s better than that? I’ll tell ya! Tomorrow is my Friday!

Leaving the house at seven in the morning and not getting back home until five-thirty or six Monday through Friday sure does not leave me much time to care of any other life issues that arise. SO, it is time for me to take a vacation day. Sadly, I am not going on any fun adventures for the day but I will be taking a few steps closer to making life a little easier on myself.

Sorry for being vague but no, I am not going to tell you what my plans are for Friday…not today anyway..Maybe next week. All I can say for now is…wish me luck!

Enough of thinking about the future..I’m bringing myself back to the present and for a few words or so,  back to the past.

As usual, my day started out by getting to work late, sitting in my cubicle working, trying to figure out what to have for lunch and finally….four thirty! Time to go to the grocery store..my least favorite thing to do on the planet, at least I was not in a cubby hole anymore 🙂

By the time I got home and put the groceries away, it was too late (and I really didn’t want to) to make dinner so I made sandwiches. I love sandwiches. Bourbon chicken breast with Colby cheese, onion and of course pickles sliced for ‘specially for sandwiches! The husband had band practice and doesn’t like to eat before banging on his drums for a couple of hours so I only made one for me 🙂 I sat and vegged on the couch for a bit and watched, of all things, the infamous Honey Boo Boo Child.

You have GOT to be kidding me with this show! I will not be watching it again but I have to admit, I was intrigued and there I sat, for one hour, watching this obese family with loud mouths with my jaw to the floor the entire time. The first few minutes this seven year old, Honey Boo Boo Child, is sitting on a chair in her front yard talking to the camera man about her day when she sneezed. Along with that sneeze came an outpour of stringy snot about two inches long from her nose! It took her about three seconds before she cupped a hand over her face to contain the oozy mess, meanwhile the camera man is still rolling. Honey Boo Boo is not saying a word, the camera man is not saying a word (I don’t think they are supposed to but I still found it awkward) the child is just sitting there cross legged on her chair, hand cupped over her snot face and literally just STARING at the camera. It was a good fifty seconds before this kid finally got off of her chair to, hopefully, go find a tissue!

I don’t want to turn this blog session into a critique of the “Here Comes Honey Boo Boo” show but I do want to say this…

Yes, this is a loud, redneck family from the south who dress horribly and are rough around the edges (to say the least) HOWEVER….the key word in my statement is…FAMILY.  You can tell there is nothing..and I mean nothing but real, true, honest and good LOVE in that household. As I said before, I will most likely not watch this again but..congrats to their family on their new show 🙂