Insert catchy title here!

Feel free to read this post and title it for me. 😊 More often than not, I click the create blog post, the new, daunting, blank page beckons me to type the title of the new post. I stare blankly at this section of the post with an empty mind. OR, something dingy and random pops into my head and voila… that’s my title.

I have zero plans for this post. I have nothing and everything to say. We are 40 days into 2022, how is it going for you all so far? I feel like maybe be 2022 is going pretty well. I have so many activities going on in my head. This month I decided to try, dry February.

Why, you ask? I’ve read it’s good to give your body a break from alcohol, that it might not be a good thing for your organs to drink alcohol everyday. I chose February because it is the shortest month of the year 😃. They sayyyyy I may lose weight. That is if I can control my new desire to eat all of the cookies from a ridiculously good cookie shop called Crumbl that moved into the neighborhood. I’ll let you know how that goes come March 1.

I bought a few new plants that I love.

Meet Mr. Fiddle

I am told this only needs to be watered one time per week. šŸ˜… my type of plant!

To the right is Lavanda the Spanish Lavender and to her right is Rosemary.

I have not figured out how to care for those two babies. Jason has told me I should water them every two days. It seems like the Rosemary may need that but I think Lavanda can go every 5 days. These plants are my intro into horticulture. I love the idea of a raised garden bed in my backyard – this may or may not be on the plan for 2022. I’m not committing yet so settle down šŸ˜…

Until next time! Take care of yourself, you’re worth it! 🤩

You can’t really ā€œmakeā€time.

There are so many things we (humans) want or need to do. It’s said…a lot… you want it you have to MAKE the time to do it. There is no way to MAKE time. You have to change the way you use your time. This will take sacrifice or a game of if I do this I can’t do that. Example. I want to wake up an hour early to workout. I won’t because if I do, I can’t get that extra hour of sleep.

I’ve had a great day of ā€œself careā€. Yoga, manicure, putting around the house (ok really I was smudging the house with sage), took a stroll on the treadmill, did some journaling. It was lovely.

To do all of the things today, I had to sacrifice chilling at home with Jason and the muppet babies, my dogs for those of you who don’t know me. To write this random post, I’m sacrificing time. It means I’ll be late. We are having guests over and I still need to shower. I don’t want to so… here I am.

So I started this workbook called, ā€œthe artists wayā€. It told me to write three pages, long hand, each morning. It basically garbage. Not the idea, the idea is pretty cool especially because I’m writing about nothing. Only random thoughts, it’s pretty freeing, you wake up and write a few pages of all of the nonsense rolling around your brain first thing in the morning.

Some of the exercises are pretty intense if you want them to be. I don’t so I will cherry pick and sugar coat the things I don’t want to address in my mind. It’s week one. We’ll see how far I get. šŸ˜†

And It’s Back to the Grind…

It’s official..the holiday season is over. Ā I started my last day of freedom (ya know..back to full work weeks..) with a few large cups of coffee and aĀ tasty little breakfast.

Jason tells me I am the best breakfast maker, he loves my eggs, bacon and toast breakfasts. I secretly know he tells me this because he doesn’t want to make breakfast and he wants me in the kitchen cooking his breakfast and serving it to him and I am OK with that. Sorry, feminists šŸ˜‰

Today, there would be no fried eggs. For some off the wall reason, the previous day, I decided to boil all of our eggs.

I jumped online and found an easy quick recipe for boiled eggs spread.

Instead of frying theĀ pound of bacon, I baked it for 15 minutes at 400 F, chopped up a bunch of scallions, and slathered it in mayonnaise. Toasted some bread and voila…a tasty, easy..open faced breakfast sandwich.

IMG_7173

It’s not the prettiest but it was good..I promise!

Breakfast was followed by our new favorite past time..finding new TV shows to watch on Netflix. We powered through the first two seasons of Orange is the New Black over the holidays..great show and I readĀ it is based on a true story! I may have to put the book on my “to read” this year.

We’re now hooked on House of Cards..good show. It takes some effort to keep up because it’s a political dramaĀ with all of the shady business but good scandals for sure… šŸ™‚

So far..it was turning into a super lazy day. I had great intentions of jumping on my bike for a nice ride at some point in the day but there were so many things to distract me!

Breakfast

Netflix

House projects I will certainly never complete.

The internet is the devil (or is it my own mind?). Somehow, my thoughts turned to home projects. It started out with an online search for a new area rug, then on to book shelves, on to reading chairs, on to ceiling beams, on to whiskey barrel coffee tables ( I stayed on this one for a while..plotting to make my own starting with phone calls to Arizona Wineries to see how much they would charge me for an empty one) Ā on to Candy Crush. šŸ™‚ The good thing about Candy Crush is you eventually run out of lives..what better way to pass the time while new lives generate than to pack away Christmas?

IMG_7172

See? I NEED a new bookcase! Christmas packed away, tree taken to the recycle center. Which by the way if you are not sure where to bring your “live” tree go to Earth911Ā and they will provide you the closest recycling center to your location. It’s not only for Christmas Trees either! It’s a handy website with plenty of information to distract you from your workouts! šŸ™‚

For a lot of us..ourĀ last day of freedom is over and it’s back to the grind tomorrow so I wish everyone a beautiful week!!

Boring?? Maybe to some…

Some might say my weekend was ā€œboringā€. What is boring? To me, nothing I do is boring – there are no boring moments, it’s all in how you look at those….let’s call them…uneventful, moments.
The hubs was feeling under the weather, down with a lovely little chest cold.
Friday afternoon..after work, I drove straight to Trader Joes to grab something quick to whip up for dinner and of course a bottle of wine. šŸ™‚ Yes, I admit it..I am a wino.
In the wine section, there behind a portable wine tasting cart, (hmm, I’ve never seen that before) was a man who asked me if I needed any help. I had been eyeballing a couple of wines in the Spanish wine section. Since my trip to Spain, I fancy Spanish wines the most. IĀ  told the man, yes, I hoped he could help me. I found a super cheap (4.99) bottle of wine from Tempernillo and I wondered if he knew anything about it or had he ever tried it, what were his thoughts?
He had never tried but he did go to his handy dandy wine booklet and read to me the process and we found the grapes are from the Rioja valley – I love a good Rioja so I told him..Sold, thanks for your help!

It took me less time to select an easy dinner for the night. I picked up a couple of pouches of beef bolognese ravioli and coupled it with a beef bolognese red sauce. I know, I know, maybe one day I will make my own raviolis..but for that night…it was already six p.m by the time I got home. I don’t know how long it takes to make home made raviolis but certainly it would take more time than I was willing to wait for dinner to be served. Besides, the pre-made ones from Trader Joes are actually pretty tasty and in less than 15 minutes we were ready to eat.

The wine I selected wasn’t horrible but..it wasn’t great either. I don’t think I will be buying another bottle.

The rest of Friday night was spent vegetating on the couch watching movies, I honestly don’t remember which movies we watched nor what time it was we fell asleep.

It must have been pretty early though because I woke up at six am ready for coffee and a jaunt to the grocery store. I was excited to try out a new recipe my sister in law told me about (check out her blog page dutch13@wordpress.com ) She gave me the link to the egg salad recipe but I didn’t use that one – I lost it so I had to google another one. It called for eggs, avocado, radishes, green onion and mayo. I threw in cilantro as well because — everything is better with cilantro!Ā  I liked the mix but I think I was expecting it to be a little more flavorful..Jason really enjoyed it..Phew! He is always so skeptical at trying ā€œmyā€ new dishes, so I was glad to know his mouth and belly were happy! šŸ˜€

The remainder of the day we watched movies..Comdey Central was the movie channel for the day – I think we may have watched four or five movies..Saving Silverman (an old one but neither J nor I had actually seen the movie all the way through before), Get him to the Greek..(always a funny one..I’m pretty sure we have both seen it now at least three times) and I can’t remember the other two.

On the menu for dinner that evening was Turkey burgers..Our friends Shane turned us on to this awesomeness. One lb. of Turkey, one packet of onion soup mix, a tub of feta cheese and one egg (ya know..to make all that other stuff stick). Jason was still not feeling well so grilling the burgers was not an option – nope, I don’t know how to cook on a grill – I broiled them in the oven on high for seven minutes on each side…I also learned how to make corn on the cob. That’s right, I had never boiled corn on the cob before Saturday night. It was all delicious – I think I could eat those burgers every day – I don’t think my taste buds would ever tire of the taste.

Full bellies from a day of nothing but eating and tele watching..it was another night of early to bed!