Feb 2026 NL, Part 6

In my last posting, I was having difficulties adding pictures and videos. I figured out that I had used the free 3 GB’s and if I wanted to continue this blog, I needed to upgrade.

I’m back so that mean I fell for the trap and I am now a paying member of this society. pshhttt.

So, we left off in Baarn at Kasteel Groeneveld. After wandering the grounds, we took a stroll on the inside

I read somewhere this Castle has the largest collection of copper ware in the Netherlands – I did not see it but next time I will ask because that would have been neat to see.

After a quick walkthrough, we all piled in the Countryman Mini Cooper. All five of us. Esther, Yvonne in the front, Jason, Brian and Shannon in the back seat and me…in the hatchback.

Hind sight, I should have asked someone to take my picture because you just cannot get the gist of it. It was fun and thankfully a quick ride back to Esthers house. We dropped off Oma (Yvonne) and headed back to downtown Utrecht so we could catch our tour of the DOMunder.

DOMunder is a subterranean tour that explores over 2000 year of history. From Roman times to medieval times and post. The destruction is all down there, underground. Before you get to the real cool stuff, the guide talks to us about the significance of what we are about to experience. The guide spoke in Dutch so that was fun trying to piece together what he was saying. My Dutch is extremely limited, like first grade level limited. When that is done, they give you a flashlight and some headphones so you can flash the light on the pieces and get a narrative in your ears of what you’re looking at.

That is all the photos I have and since today is March and this happened a month ago I don’t remember what we did after. Probably went to eat, packed up and then off to sleep because we had a long trip a head of us the next day!

I can’t wait to go back.

Feb 2026 NL, Part 5

We started the day at he market, one last time, Jason really loves the herring! I did not partake this go round but I did peep some pretty pretty mushrooms

After the market, we took a short walk down one of the many side streets from the market plain. It was time for a real breakfast, well that was the idea but I ended up ordering a salmon salad. Way off base but super delicious.

This was our view while we waited for foods. Sadly I do not remember the name of the place.

After brunch, I guess I’ll call it, We hoofed it back to the cave to wait for our ride. Esther came to pick us up – we all 5 piled into a Mini Cooper Countrymen – the driver was only about 40 minutes – we walked around Soest, the childhood home of Jason and Shannon. It was neat to see their faces light up and all the fun memories bubbling up.

Shit picture but this was in the right behind their old house, I thought I had a pic of them in the front of their house but I think Brian took that one and not me.

Cute little pond that in the coldest of winters will freeze up and they could ice skate, right behind their house. So cool.

We popped back into the car and headed over to the Castle! Kasteel Groeneveld is in Baarn, NL. Esther and her family lived at this castle for 6 years in while growing up. I can’t even imagine, ME: Oh yes, friends, just droppedp me off at my house. FRIEND, uhmm, yea OK. You guys, this was her literal home. Built in 1710 as an example of a typical country home.

Esther dropped us off and headed back to her house to pickup Oma (Jason & Shannons mom). We met at the cafe at the Castle and had some Frites and Coffees. Our time was pretty limited because we had to be back to Utrecht for our tour of the DOMunder. More on that later. Here are some pretty pics of the Castle outside for you to enjoy.

I wonder what the landscape looked like before 1768, did it not have water around it? or did they need a boat to get to their door

Stay tuned for part 6, I ran out of space on this post. I did not know that was a thing but here I am. No more space. booo.

Feb 26 NL part 4

Not every day can be perfect when traveling with a group.

This morning started out a little rough, some schedule confusion led to a wee bit of one or two of us melting down. The plan veered off course but it’s fine, we regrouped and will hit the Castle tomorrow.

So, we relaxed for a bit then took a walk about.

Back to the apartment for more relaxing and a little cleanup. Jason’s mom & a few long time family friends were set to meet us at the air bnb at 3pm.

They arrived on time, we sat, had coffee and talked until it was time to start walking to the rondvaart (canal cruise) launch.

Our air bnb view from the canal cruise

Back on land, we hoofed it up the stairs to street level and went to the OUDAEN for tea, beers, wine and tapas.

The Oudaen, was built in 1280 and is now a cafe, restaurant, brewery and hall rental. 746 years old 🤯

We don’t have these options at our establishments at home. mint and hot water, ginger and hot water and earl grey.

Goodbyes were said and we headed back to the apartment.

More bread and cheese then off to sleep!

Only one more full day left. I’m so glad we decided to stick to Utrecht and not try to cram too much in to one week.

Feb 26 part 3 NL

So many hours in the bed last, my sleep score was 73 even though I woke up many times. I did feel good enough to start my day at the gym.

This view!
Sure, after a hard leg work out go ahead and try your luck with these stairs.

Not only did I survive but I didn’t even break anything.

So I headed back to the apartment to shower so we could all start our day of wandering.

#OOTD Looking like a fisherman

First, coffee. At the bagels & beans. And while I was waiting for my coffee I ran to the media markt so I could get a new SD card, the one I brought only was 8GB

Caffeinated!

Off to the market for some fresh herring and stroopwafels!

I ate mine with bread.

So, the flavor was delicious but I do not like the texture of the herring. If I were to order this again I would have to asked for more pickles.

Then, more bikes

Walked over to the Dom Kerk again to try to book a tour of the tower and the basement of the tower. Sadly, they were sold out. This week is some kind of off week for the schools so they booked up quickly.

More walking around, went to some gift shops, ate some frite and krokette of course.

Mmmmmm

And that’s a wrap. Chill day.

Tot ziens! ✌️

Grand Canyon – part one

The day started at 345am. I ate a boiled egg and a banana. Built my pocket burritos out of precooked, shredded chicken and avocado smashed up.  Next up, filling hydration packs. I had brought one 2 liter and one 3 liter bladder bag plus 2 12 oz collapsible water bottles for my from ouches on my day pack. The collapsible bottles I filled with water and electrolytes, I use LMNT sooooo salty. 

Time to go! We left the hotel a little after 430am. I called the taxi on the way to the visitor center, packing lot 4, so they could scoop us up to take us the south Kaibab trail. The shuttle service doesn’t start until 6am at this time of year and we wanted to start the hike earlier to make sure we were out of the canyon by 2pm. Rain was predicted to roll in around that time. 

When I called the taxi they actually told me the taxis were so busy they would need to call me back in an hour! This was 430 in the morning 🤯

At the parking lot we waited, got out of the car and actually were a me to sneak on to someone else’s taxi ride. Score! From the parking lot, south kaibab trail is 2 miles so we were there in no time. 

Excited and ready for the day!

My second time to the Grand Canyon. 1st time going IN the GC.

I was a little nervous going in but once we got going my confidence soared. I thought, I got this. The downhill is pretty steep, and it’s a long way down. I would recommend prepping with a LOT of front lunges.

Didn’t need the beanie or the jacket.
Beautiful at sunrise
Down down we go.
You can see the trails ahead
3.5 miles in and feeling great

From Kaibab, we headed west to the Tonto Trail

The farther west we went it was cool to see green lush tree lines, you know what that means! Water! 😍

This is around the time I realized… I forgot my pocket burritos!! Not good.

Super rookie move. Remember, I had only eaten one boiled egg and a banana. Luckily my hiking crew member was a hero and thoughtful and brought 2 bagels, so I gratefully scarfed it down.

Rare shade!

Just after this rare shade finding, there was a little creek I didn’t take any pictures of because there were too many people rest here and I wanted to keep trekking. I did dip a plastic sandwich bag in the creek to fill it up with water to soak my neck cooler in for 30 minutes, it was getting hot .

Back into the sun

There was very little shade in this trail. Having a hat is very important. Anytime I found shade it felt so great to take the hat off to let my brain breath.

I’m really not a fan of hats, glasses or things – like neck coolers – around my neck. I wore them when needed but as soon as I could those items were OFF.

Around this time we stopped and I collapsed my trekking poles. I like to have my hands free and I was tired of carrying them.

The old water line busted so they just replaced it. I think the construction is fairly new. I really hope they bury the line or cover it with something more aesthetically pleasing because this is not what I want to see.

Construction

Off to Havasupai Gardens

Another stop around here to sunblock and dip the neck cooler in the stream again.

Next up! Off to bright angel.

But first, I met Phantom, he’s a canyon mule and so sweet

Not gonna lie. I was scared. I’d never met a mule
Up we go!

We LUCKED out. Just before the over 3500 foot ascent, the clouds starting rolling in so the sun was GONE! I could not have been more thankful.

I ate an RX bar, 200 calories.

It didn’t last long.

This is about where I started to question my judgement. I was losing steam and fast.

Pitt stop for a peanut butter and jelly snack. Only 170 calories. Up up we go.

This was – what they said to be 1.5 miles left of the trail. It was miserable.

I don’t know how I was still standing

But did I die???

Wow, I made it.

The walk to the shuttle was painful. The rise in the shuttle bus was amazing. It felt great to sit after 7 hours of walking.

Back at the car, we grabbed a fresh stash of clothes, socks, shoes and some body wipes to clean up before the ride home.

Pit stop in Flagstaff for a burger and fries and Diablo Burger. I had the Blake and it was sooooo good.

In 3 weeks we plan to hike the south rim to the north rim. Lessons I learned that will be applied to the next trip.

I must drink a shit ton of water the week before and especially the day before the 25 mile hike. I will need to pack way more calories for this next trip and NOT forget the pocket burritos. I’ll need to eat more frequently. I’m positive I can do the rim to rim. I know the hike up was so hard was because I did not fuel my body enough to make it and this made the ascent more difficult than it needed to be.

Until next time! Happy trails 😁

February 2024

Feeling a little off today. Disconnected may be a good descriptive word for my head space today. I’m not going to try to analyze it or fix it. Just recognizing the feeling and sitting with it for a moment.

Sitting with it, prompted me to stop scrolling through IG and start scrolling and remembering the past 4 months. Here’s my Feb.

Lilou, the cowGIRL corgi came to meet Mork before we went away to cabin in the woods for a weekend. They did great. Lilou is only 1year old so she is pretty rambunctious. Mork tolerated her, when he was done, he put her in check and she submitted. Thankfully, they were good together.
Men doing manly things
Snow!

This was a bit after Mork escaped and we had to run around the mountain for 15 minutes playing catch me if you can. I did but oh my goodness! That boy was so happy to be running free, I captured him about 25 feet down a hill, picked him up and hiked him back up the hill. I think I died.

Our family photo 🥰
We stopped for coffee at the strawberry inn in the way home.

The weekend was super chill, we played games, listened to music, walked the dogs and talked.

Back home and the rest of the month consisted of work, walking Mork & trying to stick to the training plan for the 1/2 marathon in May. I was in track around this time.
I love sauna

Stay tuned for more possible updates 😅

January, what?

Gah! I can’t believe you’re almost gone. I wanted to do something fun with you, like get out of town.

Weekend in the pines or a day trip to the snow, a hike somewhere new. None of that happened.

I did start training very early for a half marathon and have stuck to it every week running 3 days a week and increasing mileage according to the Hal Higdon training half marathon training plan for a novice.

I bought myself a pair of sweet new running shoes. Poor associate at the shoe store, he worked hard for his commissions. I swear I tried on 8 pairs of shoes, 3 different brands. I wanted Saucony but they didn’t have my size in any fun colors. Hoka was next but same… no fun colors. I broke down and got the Brooks. I was reluctant because for some reason I think of old”er” people when i think of Brooks. I thought they were along the lines of New Balance 🤣 but look at how cute they are!

Ask me how fast I can go in my new shoes!

Not only do I love the color but they are the most comfy fluffy running shoes I’ve ever worn. I’ve out 21 miles in them so far.

Dry January has been super easy for me. Today marks day 34. Interesting to note I have not dropped a single pound 🤨

Last weekend I went to a bar to watch some live music and hang out with a couple of friends. On the way to the bar I drank a CBD drink. I swear by these, Mad Tasty

I feel chill after I drink one of these and I can hang out for like 4-5 hours in one place! Unheard of, for me anyway. I wonder if I can buy stock in this. 🤓 I get them at my local Total Wine, I grab 2 every time. I stayed up way until 1am- who am I? 🤣🤣

I went out for pizza and I didn’t get my basic pepperoni. I tell you this Holy Shitake Mushroom from Mellow Mushroom was unbelievably delicious. I may have had a slice for breakfast the next day.

Holy shitake this was good 👍🏼

So although I did not get out of town this month I did manager to do some things not in my usual routine.

I’m ready for February.

First Friday

First Friday of 2024. I’m spending it at home, with Mork. We just got done walking the neighborhood, it was only 1.70 miles but took us 45 minutes because… BEAGLE.

The max amount of time I can kind of jog with him is like 15 seconds.

I dropped Jason off at the airport this morning. He’s headed to CSP to spend the weekend with a couple of his good friends. That was a fun ride to the airport lol. My car told me I had about 44 miles left before I had to get gas so the gas light was on and made Jason extremely nervous. Yes I am that one person who likes to live on the edge and push my car to it limits to see how far I can go on a tank of gas. This particular tank of gas lasted me 479 miles. I made it to the airport and almost home.

It was a full day of work but it was at home and drama free – love that!

I’m on day 10 of dry January. Yes, I’m aware that it is only day 5 of January but I started early. So after work I went to a Pilates class hoping it would curb my craving to drink alone tonight.

Cutest Pilates socks, huh?!

I don’t know about you guys, but I love to drink alone. In fact, I prefer to drink alone I can get stupid and nobody is here to judge me. My dog doesn’t care. But I am doing dry January so I’m not going to drink alone and instead I took a Pilates class. That did not help I came home. I still wanted to drink so I took Mork for a walk.

That helped. I’m good now. At the moment, I’m thinking about how I’m going to do my 1st outside street run tomorrow. I’m supposed to do 4 miles and I want to give running outside a shot, I’m scared but what’s the worst that’ll happen? I get tired and my shins and ankles hurt and I have to walk home? Or better yet… I can always stop and get an Uber. 😂

I’ve run 8.5 miles since January 1 – 13.1 miles seems impossible in one day 😅

I am excited to see how this progresses.

Hope you all have an amazing weekend!

Happy New Year!

Hi! Are people still blogging in 2024? I am surprised at myself for not taking my question to Uncle Google.

I started my day 1, 2024, hang over free. Quite possibly for the first time in decades. 🫣

I feel great. . I have had a pretty great day too. Slept in until 7am, finished a book. “Fourth Wing” by Rebecca Yarros ~ kind of along the lines of Harry Potter and Hunger Games. Right up my alley so of course I had to get to Target to pick up the sequel, “Iron Flame”.

I got a 2.5 mile run in, took Mork for a walk around the neighborhood. Took down Christmas and did some laundry. Very ordinary nothing special day and I enjoyed it. ☺️

Here’s to the New Year

Looking forward to dry January.

Looking forward to training for my first 1/2 marathon!

PNW Summer II

Hoi! I’m back, earlier than even I thought. I think I am a bit more motivated to get the Oregon trip documented because tomorrow I am headed to Denver for a short trip. I am hoping getting this in the books will help me transition into posting on the Denver trip. Any hoosier… Here are some of my favorite pieces of eye candy from a day or two along the coast of Oregon.

Thors Well

Thors Well just outside of Yachats is a hole in the rocks in along the shoreline. It used to be a sea cave but it collapsed and now, during high tide, the water drifts in spouts with awesome splashes and then pulls back out to sea. The walk from the parking lot along the 101 was easy until I got to the slippery volcanic rock where I had to be careful not to slip and crack my skull. Also there are tide pool creatures laying about so I had also pay mind not to squash them. Its pretty epic and I could have sat there for hours watching, it never got old and the funny thing is that every time..I mean, every time the splash came we (there was quite a crowd) all ooooooo’d and awwwwww’d like we had never seen it before.

Mo’s

Next up, the obligatory Mo’s stop. Not necessarily next as in after Thor’s Well we went to Mo’s because I am pretty sure it didn’t happen in this order. Next up as in this was the next photo amongst the photo dump. Fresh seafood so of course no complaints. Well, one complaint. They did not even have fresh oysters. What was going on?

Heceta Lighthouse

This lighthouse sits high up on a headland between Florence and Yachats. It sure was windy up there. I was disappointed it was not opened for me to climb around in but still cool, I do love a lighthouse. 205 feet below was this

Patrick had one too many last night
Super green = super slippery

These next round of photos I think were near the magical Hobbit Trail Head also in or near Florence.

We walked through gorgeous forestry and found ourselves at the end pretty quickly. The end was a secluded beach.

Welcome to my happy place. Next stop, Denver! TTFN