February 2024

Feeling a little off today. Disconnected may be a good descriptive word for my head space today. I’m not going to try to analyze it or fix it. Just recognizing the feeling and sitting with it for a moment.

Sitting with it, prompted me to stop scrolling through IG and start scrolling and remembering the past 4 months. Here’s my Feb.

Lilou, the cowGIRL corgi came to meet Mork before we went away to cabin in the woods for a weekend. They did great. Lilou is only 1year old so she is pretty rambunctious. Mork tolerated her, when he was done, he put her in check and she submitted. Thankfully, they were good together.
Men doing manly things
Snow!

This was a bit after Mork escaped and we had to run around the mountain for 15 minutes playing catch me if you can. I did but oh my goodness! That boy was so happy to be running free, I captured him about 25 feet down a hill, picked him up and hiked him back up the hill. I think I died.

Our family photo 🥰
We stopped for coffee at the strawberry inn in the way home.

The weekend was super chill, we played games, listened to music, walked the dogs and talked.

Back home and the rest of the month consisted of work, walking Mork & trying to stick to the training plan for the 1/2 marathon in May. I was in track around this time.
I love sauna

Stay tuned for more possible updates 😅

January, what?

Gah! I can’t believe you’re almost gone. I wanted to do something fun with you, like get out of town.

Weekend in the pines or a day trip to the snow, a hike somewhere new. None of that happened.

I did start training very early for a half marathon and have stuck to it every week running 3 days a week and increasing mileage according to the Hal Higdon training half marathon training plan for a novice.

I bought myself a pair of sweet new running shoes. Poor associate at the shoe store, he worked hard for his commissions. I swear I tried on 8 pairs of shoes, 3 different brands. I wanted Saucony but they didn’t have my size in any fun colors. Hoka was next but same… no fun colors. I broke down and got the Brooks. I was reluctant because for some reason I think of old”er” people when i think of Brooks. I thought they were along the lines of New Balance 🤣 but look at how cute they are!

Ask me how fast I can go in my new shoes!

Not only do I love the color but they are the most comfy fluffy running shoes I’ve ever worn. I’ve out 21 miles in them so far.

Dry January has been super easy for me. Today marks day 34. Interesting to note I have not dropped a single pound 🤨

Last weekend I went to a bar to watch some live music and hang out with a couple of friends. On the way to the bar I drank a CBD drink. I swear by these, Mad Tasty

I feel chill after I drink one of these and I can hang out for like 4-5 hours in one place! Unheard of, for me anyway. I wonder if I can buy stock in this. 🤓 I get them at my local Total Wine, I grab 2 every time. I stayed up way until 1am- who am I? 🤣🤣

I went out for pizza and I didn’t get my basic pepperoni. I tell you this Holy Shitake Mushroom from Mellow Mushroom was unbelievably delicious. I may have had a slice for breakfast the next day.

Holy shitake this was good 👍🏼

So although I did not get out of town this month I did manager to do some things not in my usual routine.

I’m ready for February.

First Friday

First Friday of 2024. I’m spending it at home, with Mork. We just got done walking the neighborhood, it was only 1.70 miles but took us 45 minutes because… BEAGLE.

The max amount of time I can kind of jog with him is like 15 seconds.

I dropped Jason off at the airport this morning. He’s headed to CSP to spend the weekend with a couple of his good friends. That was a fun ride to the airport lol. My car told me I had about 44 miles left before I had to get gas so the gas light was on and made Jason extremely nervous. Yes I am that one person who likes to live on the edge and push my car to it limits to see how far I can go on a tank of gas. This particular tank of gas lasted me 479 miles. I made it to the airport and almost home.

It was a full day of work but it was at home and drama free – love that!

I’m on day 10 of dry January. Yes, I’m aware that it is only day 5 of January but I started early. So after work I went to a Pilates class hoping it would curb my craving to drink alone tonight.

Cutest Pilates socks, huh?!

I don’t know about you guys, but I love to drink alone. In fact, I prefer to drink alone I can get stupid and nobody is here to judge me. My dog doesn’t care. But I am doing dry January so I’m not going to drink alone and instead I took a Pilates class. That did not help I came home. I still wanted to drink so I took Mork for a walk.

That helped. I’m good now. At the moment, I’m thinking about how I’m going to do my 1st outside street run tomorrow. I’m supposed to do 4 miles and I want to give running outside a shot, I’m scared but what’s the worst that’ll happen? I get tired and my shins and ankles hurt and I have to walk home? Or better yet… I can always stop and get an Uber. 😂

I’ve run 8.5 miles since January 1 – 13.1 miles seems impossible in one day 😅

I am excited to see how this progresses.

Hope you all have an amazing weekend!

Happy New Year!

Hi! Are people still blogging in 2024? I am surprised at myself for not taking my question to Uncle Google.

I started my day 1, 2024, hang over free. Quite possibly for the first time in decades. 🫣

I feel great. . I have had a pretty great day too. Slept in until 7am, finished a book. “Fourth Wing” by Rebecca Yarros ~ kind of along the lines of Harry Potter and Hunger Games. Right up my alley so of course I had to get to Target to pick up the sequel, “Iron Flame”.

I got a 2.5 mile run in, took Mork for a walk around the neighborhood. Took down Christmas and did some laundry. Very ordinary nothing special day and I enjoyed it. ☺️

Here’s to the New Year

Looking forward to dry January.

Looking forward to training for my first 1/2 marathon!

Happy New Year Y’all!!

Happy New Year Everyone! 2013 is here and I have no idea what it will bring.

I don’t usually make “new year resolutions” but this year I have too many. So many, I may be setting myself up for failure. Make no mistake, I plan and would love to follow through with all of my resolutions but…I am not oblivious to the fact that I am well known for making tons of plans, setting goals, dreaming big and then…not doing any of them. My intentions and thoughts are always genuine, I am a pretty passionate person…about a lot of things at any given moment.
For example…I watched the movie “Big Miracle” the other day. Great movie, based on a true story set in 1988 about a mommy, daddy and baby whale who got stuck in a a section of rapidly closing ice holes in the sea off of Barrow, Alaska. Greenpeace, the U.S Military, the entire community nearest Barrow, AK., the nation were involved in the rescue of these whales. By the end of the movie, I wanted to become a part of Greenpeace and save our oceans critters…Now, I know that will never happen but I like to think I about “if only I could”.

Maybe, one day, far off into the future this thought will come back to me and I will do my part. For now, I will stick to some little things I can might be able to actually follow through.

Here goes…I will walk my dogs every night. I’ve been reading Cesar Milans book, “Cesars Way” — Do you know that man exercises his dogs for eight hours a day? This is not possible for me or anyone else living in my house so, the mutts will get their morning play of catch with the husband and in the evening I will come home and take them straight away on a run.
We have three so it’s a little difficult. I have to take little Fat Larry out first – I will  run him around the neighborhood, bring him home and come back for the other two. Larry is a good walker, he’s little, easy to control. The other two? HA! They are terrible walkers! While walking them together, if one dog gets in front of the other they viciously attack each other. It’s quite embarrassing. If a person walks by…they bark at them…if a person walks by with a dog??? They bark and pull HARD on their leashes like they are going in for a kill. I have to add here that my dogs are the biggest chicken dogs of all time. I don’t know if they would even know what to do if I…say…let their leashes go. Needless to say..I have no control. I will continue to read “Cesars Way” and try to apply the advice to our daily walking/running routine. So far…three days of walk/running.

Do you want to hear something pathetic?

The day after our first walk, of maybe  mile, my quads were sore, my shin muscles were sore..do you know even my ANKLE muscles were sore?? My ankle muscles have never hurt before. This was a sad sad realization I was slapped with. I am seriously out of shape! I must continue 🙂 My chub will go away, dogs chub will go away and we will all be happier!! Wish me luck here!

When I started tonights blog…I had full intention of babbling on and on about the oh so many resolutions I have for 2013.

I changed my mind. Let’s see how I feel tomorrow. If I still see reason for more resolution..I will let you know 🙂 For now, in this moment, I am perfectly content with my walking/running nightly goal!

Here are a few pictures of my running partners!!

This here is (for now) Fat Larry!

Image

Image
Above: We have Bollie

Image
Above: This is Ollie

Best wishes to all of you for 2013!!!