Lake Day

I love water. The ocean, the river, a pool, a hot tub – or is it a spa? Are all hot tubs spas? Are all spas hot tubs? – I love water.

I don’t love the lake. I mean, they’re beautiful, because its water but…to me, it feels… germy. Especially in Arizona. Its HOT, the water is just floating around, not really going anywhere. Kinda gross if you really focus on it.

With that said, I am trying to get past this. So, me and my friend and our mens met up at Lake Pleasant in AZ., the mens sat at the restaurant, on the water , had drinks and snacks while me and the friend putzd around on the lake with our paddle boards.

Rule #1 carrier your blow up paddle board down to the dock.

Rule#2 get comfy and don’t complain, it’s going to take about 5 minutes to blow up the board.

Rule#3 don’t be afraid to ask for help getting into your board from the dock.

There was some shade, thankfully, it was still hot 🥵

Once

On the water it was my bliss 😍 even though I did forget sunblock!

Look at the body in the air!!

You can’t really “make”time.

There are so many things we (humans) want or need to do. It’s said…a lot… you want it you have to MAKE the time to do it. There is no way to MAKE time. You have to change the way you use your time. This will take sacrifice or a game of if I do this I can’t do that. Example. I want to wake up an hour early to workout. I won’t because if I do, I can’t get that extra hour of sleep.

I’ve had a great day of “self care”. Yoga, manicure, putting around the house (ok really I was smudging the house with sage), took a stroll on the treadmill, did some journaling. It was lovely.

To do all of the things today, I had to sacrifice chilling at home with Jason and the muppet babies, my dogs for those of you who don’t know me. To write this random post, I’m sacrificing time. It means I’ll be late. We are having guests over and I still need to shower. I don’t want to so… here I am.

So I started this workbook called, “the artists way”. It told me to write three pages, long hand, each morning. It basically garbage. Not the idea, the idea is pretty cool especially because I’m writing about nothing. Only random thoughts, it’s pretty freeing, you wake up and write a few pages of all of the nonsense rolling around your brain first thing in the morning.

Some of the exercises are pretty intense if you want them to be. I don’t so I will cherry pick and sugar coat the things I don’t want to address in my mind. It’s week one. We’ll see how far I get. 😆

It’s a Girls Day Out…

Crap, I was supposed to wake up, at the latest, 0700. The plan was to hit the 0915 Power Yoga class at Sutra Midtown ~ the drive is a little over 15 miles.

Yea, well Kiah didn’t wake me up until after 0800..no way were we going to make it.. Instead we figured we could make it to the Basic Yoga class at 1045, be done in time for lunch! Perfecto!

We left in a timely manner but stupid construction put us a little bit behind schedule..that and the weirdos on the road doing like five miles UNDER the speed limit..Honestly..I really don’t understand..

I wanted to take some pictures of the place for the you all but we got there just in time to toss our belongings into a cubby and head to class!

From the spacious front room – decorated with super cute yoga apparel along with walls clad with amazing local art – the front desk attendant walked us through the clean hall and into the “dungeoneaque” practice space. The entry door was really neat..it was made of iron and had welding marks.. like it was a bunch of little iron piece welded together..and it was a sliding door.

The room was dimly lit and was full of aspiring yogis in savasana setting all intentions. Kiah and I followed suit.

Just like myself..my yoga practice has been random and inconsistent. With that said..My skill level is somewhere between a beginner and the intermediate level. These past few months have set me back so my STRENGTH is totally at a beginner level.. This class actually worked out pretty well.

The instructor reminded me of Seth Meyers a little (1st impression) as the class (slowly) progressed..I was beginning to work deeper into going back to the basics. Damn…that was tough. I forgot how much hard work it is to build strength. I was surprised my legs were so weak, my wrists had a hard time holding on and that I actually broke a sweat. 😉 Mr instructor did such a great job at reminding us to root ourselves and to keep breathing. Those who don’t yoga..yes…we doing yoga…must sometimes be reminded to BREATHE 😉

Although I would have much preferred an intermediate class (they flow faster and require less strength..in my opinion) it was great to get back to the basics and the instructor did a wonderful job at reeling me back in. I will definitely be back to see what else Midtown Sutra has to offer!

And…next time I go back…I will take pictures..the vibe of the place is excellent..you have to see it..

After class, we jumped into the ridiculously HOT car (thank you to the brilliant man who invented window coverings for cars!!!) and drove downtown for a little lunch.

Again..traffic was HORRIBLE..guess who forgot this weekend was Phoenix COMICON.?? Yep..me..bad decision but we stuck it out. I am pretty sure we drove around for like 25 minutes trying to fight traffic and figure out how to get to the restaurant before finding the parking garage adjacent to out destination.

Walking to the Pizzaria Bianco was like walking in an oven..People..it’s friggin HOT here.

IMG_5375

I have been obsessing about this place for months having heard it was one of the best pizzas in the nation..naturally I was curious!  Surprisingly, the wait was not too long and we were seated within two minutes of arriving. The inside is super small, the tables too close together and the acoustics are not that great..it was loud. We opted to dine outside. Thankfully, there was a little bit of a breeze, some shading and we had cold cold drinks..I prefer dining outdoors so I was completely OK with it.

IMG_5377

IMG_5386

The staff was wonderful. So attentive but not annoyingly so…and the lady who brought us our AH MA ZING pizza margarita even entertained us and took a picture of me and my lovely when I asked her to. 😉 Thanks lady!!

Now..check out the goods:

IMG_5380

Thin crust with just the right amount of crunch with every bite. The freshness of the tomatoes and sauce is well worth the 15.00 we paid for this little pizza. The mozzarella cheese was perfect and the basil…mon amie…I am not a pizza expert and have no idea what constitutes the best pizza in the nation but I would imagine this place deserves big props for what they create.

Here’s a tip thoug…if you are dining with a male…you’ll need to order  two pizzas…Kiah and I could have probably eaten one per.. we are thanking ourselves for not because that would have been glutenous of us but..we totally could have..

We tossed around the idea of checking the menu again for maybe some dessert or a salad..luckily we just paid the check and left.

Half way home Kiah spotted a little cupcake shop she’s been wanting to try out so I swung around and we went in.

IMG_5384

The Treehouse Bakery is a vegan bakery..

IMG_5383

The selection was not big but they did have the vanilla, chocolate and an interesting combo of strawberry basil..I am curious about that one so I just might have to go back for that one.

The lady behind the counter amused me when I asked her to find the biggest one because Kiah and wanted to share one 🙂 and then she offered to us this  cappuccino hazelnut delight!

I am not sure how, without butter, she made the frosting taste so buttery but it was super good!! Glad we stopped. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Conjuring…

Oh..em..gee..

I seem to only watch scary movies….ALONE. Not sure if I just enjoy the torture of being petrified or if it is just because I don’t think my family will appreciate the scary flick as much as I do. It is what it is and that’s what I do..I’m alone..I’m watching a scary movie.

Tonight, Jason’s out with the guys shooting things in the desert, Kiah is at work and I’m watching “The Conjuring”.

It’s very rare, these days, I get my heart racing with fear over a movie…this one did the trick. 🙂

It started out with a scary doll ~ I hate scary dolls…they freak me out. Why? No clue…they just..do! Creepy doll was old..had crackled blues eyes, red lipstick and cracked cheeks  painted in red rouge. I am still, even after the movie is over, a little confused as to what this doll had to do with anything. The opening scene is two female roommates on the couch talking to someone (you can only assume is a shrink or a ghost hunter) about this creepy doll who they allowed  some demon soul to possess. Then the movie cuts too a family with a boat load of kids moving into a new house.

First clue something may be wrong with the house…the dog..will..not…go.. inside. ALWAYS..trust your dog. If your dog barks incessitanly at something or someone, IT is NOT to be trusted.

** Spoiler alert* So this family dog refuses to enter the house and of course, its a scary movie, the dog is found dead the next morning.

Why, do the scary movie writers insist on always killing the dog? Really? Kill the jackass  teenager who expects way too much out of life! Poor little dupper dog didn’t do anything wrong..shoot..He didn’t even go inside. And it’s not like he can speak to the humans and tell them, “Hey, person..you have freaky deaky ghosts living in your house. You may want to get out”.

Dog is buried and the family doesnt even question, “why did the dog die”? They move on. Unpacking, playing games, going to work, going to school. Until one night..

Two of the girl children – who share a room – are sleeping. The younger one keeps waking up in the night because “her older sister” keeps pulling her foot. After the second night of this shenanigans the young one finally realizes..”holy crap, my sister is in her bed..asleep..it’s not her who is pulling my leg”. What does she do? She looks UNDER HER BED..

Who out there would LOOK UNDER their bed, in the middle of the night after being scared of WHAT was grabbing your foot while you were sleeping?

Sorry..but I would have pulled the covers over my head and held my breath until the daylight shone.

I won’t go into too much detail but the above described..good scene. It gets better from there..The mom starts realizing something is up with the house after a night of chasing around a strange clapping noise and being locked in the basement until the husband comes home..Which brings me to another..Really?? Would you ever??

So she hears the basement door creak and sees it open and yet she still..goes down the stairs, in the dark to the creepy basement of the house they just moved into.

Would you go? I..would..not.. I would run upstairs , jump in my bed, pull the covers over my head and hold my breath until the daylight shone.

At this point, the movie is heating up and they bring in a married couple who perform cleansing rituals to rid homes and people of other worldly issues.

Now, I do have to say, I become a little conflicted with some of the story line.

I believe in ghosts. I do not believe in the devil. Which also means that I don’t think I can believe in demonic possession. The conflictual aspect, on my part,  comes into play is at this point because the writers introduce the demonic possession theory.

With that said..the movie did still end up being ~ hold your breath until the next scene scary. if you like scary movies.watch it. 🙂